Wheathampstead Parish Council Special Parish Council Meeting 25 June 2015, 19.30h

Present	Councillors	D Johnston A Dante D Davies T Reason J Shardlow P Wilby P Woodhams	Chairman
		J Warren	Clerk to the Council
		Press Public	0 3

4178 -15 Apologies and introductions

Apologies were received and accepted from Councillor A Brewster (SADC meeting) G Clark (SADC Deputy Mayoral function), L Halford and S Haynes (personal reasons).

4179-15 Specific Declarations of Interest & Dispensations

None.

4180-15 Co-option to Parish Council

Eleven councillors were elected unopposed to twelve seats in the May 2015 election. A vacancy existed which Council was legally required to seek to fill. (LGA 1972 s 89, LGA 1972 sch 12 s39) At Minute 4122-15 the co-option process was agreed for the 25 June meeting, namely:

Advertise vacancy – noticeboards, website, word of mouth for decision by parish councillors at June Council meeting. Potential co-optees, in order of receipt of their application forms (*copies circulated to all councillors*) would have up to 3 minutes in which to present themselves to councillors.

Three applications had been received and candidates present, presentations were delivered in order of receipt:

- 1. Caroline Vincent
- 2. John Stocker
- 3. Elias Habib

A fourth candidate had withdrawn his application and did not attend.

Following the presentations a paper ballot was undertaken of councillors present. Ballot forms were presented in alphabetical order by surname. Voting by a clear majority vote. The Clerk

1

acted as 'presiding officer' and declared Elias Habib duly elected.

He was immediately invited to sign the declaration of acceptance of office, pre full council meeting and so commence as councillor. Declaration of interests and code of conduct forms were to be completed at the earliest opportunity as was an informal induction process conducted by the Clerk.

Resolved To declare Elias Habib elected as parish councillor through the cooption process.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 19.45h.

Dated this day of 2015

Chairman